Louisiana SR 22 Insurance – certificate of financial responsibility
Louisiana SR 22 Insurance – certificate of financial responsibility – The state of Louisiana uses the SR 22 form to help protect its citizens against problem drivers by monitoring their insurance. It requires the auto insurance company to file the Louisiana SR 22 insurance form as proof of a problem driver’s financial responsibility, stating that his/her auto insurance liability is in effect. The state does not send notifications and it is the responsibility of the driver and the auto insurance company to submit the form as well as the renewals, to the state, if required.
There are three different types of LA SR 22 forms:
- The Operator’s Certificate covers the financial responsibility in the case the motorist does not own a vehicle.
- The Owner’s Certificate covers the financial responsibility for vehicles owned by the motorist.
- The Operators-Owners Certificate covers financial responsibility for all the vehicles that are owned or non-owned by the motorist.
When is Louisiana SR 22 Insurance Required?
The SR 22 financial responsibility Insurance form is required in the following cases:
- If you have any safety responsibility suspensions. For example, if an uninsured driver was involved in an accident in the past but did not pay the requisite compensation then he or she needs to file the SR-22.
- If you have any unsatisfied judgment suspensions. For example, if a driver involved in an accident in the past has an unsatisfactory judgment entered against him then he or she needs to file the SR-22.
- In case of revocations of license.
- In the case of mandatory insurance supervisions.
How to file an SR22 In Louisiana What if I am from out of state and require an SR22?
- Contact a state-authorized insurance agency like Select Insurance Group to request an SR 22 filing.
- Pay the correct processing fee to the agency. The fee amount may vary between agencies. You can request an insurance quote from our agency
- As per the State laws of Louisiana, the minimum amount of coverage should be $10,000 for one person killed or injured, $20,000 for two or more persons killed or injured and $10,000 for property damage.
- Upon receiving the request from the agent the central office then files the SR 22 with the State.
- If accepted, you will receive the SR 22 from the agency along with a letter from the Department of Public Safety.
- The SR 22 has to be maintained for a minimum period of 36 months. If the motorist does not renew it at least 15 days before the expiration date the agency notifies the State. The State may then suspend the driving record of the motorist until the insurance is reinstated.
What if I am from out of state and require an SR22?
- If you are from out of state your out of state proof of financial responsibility will be accepted provided that your insurer certifies in writing that the insurance policy complies with the laws of the state of Louisiana. It is best to contact your insurance agent to find out if your out of state policy is valid in the state of Louisiana.
- If you are required to file SR 22 in Louisiana you will have to do so through an insurance company that is licensed to do business in the state.
Louisiana SR 22 Insurance
Louisiana SR22 Insurance – In Louisiana you may be required to file a proof of financial responsibility or otherwise known as SR 22 insurance. Some of the violations include:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs
- Failure to pay child support
- Driving with a suspended or revoked license
- Vehicular homicide
This SR 22 form is filed with the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles and is required for three years after your suspension period.
How much will my insurance increase due to an SR 22 filing?
The cost of your auto insurance is not going to increase just because of the SR22 form needed rather it will increase due to your driving history. The cost of the SR22 is only $20-$50 depending on the company but the insurance premium could be higher than before if you had a violation such as a DUI or DWI.
Which companies offer SR 22 insurance in Louisiana?
Most auto insurance companies in Louisiana offer SR 22 forms but be sure to shop around since rates can vary from company to company. Companies such as Allstate, State Farm, & Geico Insurance all offer SR 22 insurance at different rates. These are great companies but we shop multiple companies so you find the cheapest policy possible.
Don’t let your SR 22 policy cancel before the probation period ends!
If you cancel your SR 22 insurance policy or let it lapse prior to the end of your probationary period the following will occur:
- Driver’s license suspended again
- Start SR22 probation period over
- Increased insurance rates and state fees are likely
The best way to make sure you don’t let this happen is to either pay a few months in advance or setup an automatic withdrawal. This way you will not have to worry about your policy canceling.
Louisiana Liability Insurance Requirements
The state of Louisiana requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:
- $15k Per Person Bodily Injury
- $30k Per Accident Bodily Injury
- $25k Property Damage
While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Louisiana
Louisiana state law prohibits any driver from operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated from drugs and/or alcohol. Limits are set so officers can determine if the driver is breaking the law. The state limit for blood alcohol concentration are:
- All drivers = .08%
- Commercial drivers = .04%
- Under age 21 drivers = .02%
Implied Consent Law
If you refuse to take the chemical test which determines your BAC or blood alcohol concentration your driver’s license will be suspended. This suspension is 180 days for the first refusal and 545 days for the second refusal.
Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?
Louisiana does require certain drivers to install ignition interlock devices that must be installed by approved vendors. Here is a list of approved vendors:
- Consumer Safety Technology, Inc (877) 777-5020
- Draeger Interlock, Inc (972) 929-1100
- Guardian Interlock (800) 849-5465
- LifeSaver Interlock, Inc (800) 531-0006
- Safe Start, LLC (888) 786-7384
- Smart Start of Louisiana (800) 880-3394
In order to reinstate your driver’s license the state may require and IID to be installed on each vehicle you operate. The cost to install is your responsibility and the monthly rental cost is also up to you. Usually an IID is required for a 2nd and subsequent DUI/DWI conviction.
If you have questions, don’t hesitate to call: (855) 438-7353. One of our licensed agents will help you right away.