Ohio Student Drunk Driving Education and Facts
Ohio Student Drunk Driving Education and Facts – In 2014, alcohol-related accidents in Ohio amounted to 1006 fatalities. Operating a Vehicle under the Influence (OVI) in Ohio is the number one reason for these road injuries and deaths. This has resulted in the increase in the number of felony charges among students (aggravated vehicular assault or aggravated vehicular homicide). Therefore, traffic crashes are the leading cause of death among teenage drivers in America.
According to the 2011 statistic report 316 alcohol related fatalities are mentioned, and 17% of the incidences are caused by underage drivers. The same statistics suggests that most of the offenders had previous OVI convictions. In 2014, 1,651 minor drivers were pronounced dead due to drunk driving where, on weekends, every hour one teen dies in traffic crashes and in every two hours during the week.
According to the National Center for Health Statistics, motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death and most of them are caused by drivers under 21 years. About 10 % of Ohio licensed drivers are under the age of 21. The reason why the teenage drivers are leading in the death toll of drunk driving is due to immaturity and lack of proper driving experience, combined with drinking and driving. The teens do not have the experience to recognize hazardous activities and respond to them when they occur. Their desire for adventure makes them explore dangerous driving such as speeding and drifting.
It is quite rare to find drunk driving accidents during the day, but most of the underage caused accidents occur at night. Individuals under the age of 21 like to indulge in drinking and partying during the night. The funny thing about alcohol effects is that it keeps one super confidence but in the real sense the mind is failing. Most teenagers fail to control their drinks, so they end up recording high rates of offences.
In America, nearly 11 million underage people consume alcohol and 90% of them binge drink. The probability of 10th – 12th graders to binge drink when compared to adult drinking is twice. According to a 2013 Youth Risk Behavior Survey, 10% of high school students are likely to drive after drinking.
Not only is it dangerous to drive while drunk, sometimes peer pressure and driving with an intoxicated person can contribute majorly to accidents. Driving with an intoxicated person makes it hard to concentrate when the passengers affect the driving pattern of the driver. Underage drinking and driving affect millions of families each year.
It is believed that about 80% of Ohio State students take a maximum of 6 drinks when they party. This directly indicates that the underage can have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of above .08%. This is no condition beyond a designated drunk driver requirement because it is already past the legal driving limit. For each standard drink, on average, a female BAC will go up to .035% and a male BAC will go up to .02%. If one is legally impaired, the following symptoms will arise:
- Slur speech
- Poor memory and motor skills
- Diminished sight and hearing ability
- Reduced judgment or self-control
- Blurred vision
The legal drinking age in Ohio is 21 years. So under aged teen caught drinking will have committed a first-degree misdemeanor offense. A student can get a maximum confinement of 6 months or get a fine – the fine can go as high as $1,000. The court might make a decision to convict you to both of the maximum penalties.
Codes and penalties
The state of Ohio fights underage driver drinking by putting the same maximum penalties to persons who are caught furnishes alcohol to a person who is not 21 years of age. The legal limit for teenage drivers between the age of 16 and 20 is .02% BAC. If a police officer has sufficient evidence, then the student will lose his or her driver’s license on the spot and gets an immediate suspension. To preserve the safety of the of the OSU community, the Ohio state has DUI/OVI penalties to deter drunk driving.
There is a code of student conduct that universities use to inflict disciplinary action to students who participate in off-campus behavior that causes serious harm to the health of members of the University community or substantial property damage. Therefore, if a student is found guilty of DUI /OVI: the student can be suspended or dismissed from the university.
To help the teens develop maturity in driving and gain driving experience, they have to go through the Graduated driver’s license (GDL) laws. This is a knowledge test and vision screening program that every minor driver must take prior to obtaining a temporary instruction permit identification card (TIPIC) – which is to be held for at least 6 months. The student is required to take an education class (minimum of 24 hours) and driving time (minimum 8 hours) during the course.
If a student gets to pass the knowledge test and vision screening, he or she has to stay away from operating a vehicle from midnight to 6 a.m. during the first 12 months of holding a license. If you are still Under Age 18 and you have already held the TIPIC for 12 months, you are restricted from operating a vehicle between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.
When you are driving in these restricted times (during an emergency school activity or work activity), you are expected to be in the company of a parent or guardian. When the guardian or parent is available (it allows the driver to meet the requirement- at least 50 hours of in-car practice), it is clear that no drunk driving will be tolerated unless the person is the one encouraging the driver’s impairment.
The Ohio laws encourage parental involvement in any teenage driver education. This makes sure that the driver is monitored and gains exposure to driving while still sober. According to statistics, 32% of teenage drivers abide by the (GDL) laws. The parent here will act as a regulator which works to reduce the number of accidents caused by alcohol in the Ohio roads.
The National Institutes of Health has its findings: most of the accidents or crashes happen during the first 6 months after the student has received his or her independent driving license.
Three stages of Graduated driver’s license (GDL) laws
|State||Learner (stage 1)||Intermediate (stage 2)||Full privilege (Stage 3)|
|Minimum age||15 ½||16 -17||18|
|Minimum duration||6 months|
|Hours of supervision||50 hrs. & 10 night hrs.|
|Night time restrictions||Midnight-6am & 1-5 am|
|Passenger restrictions||Not more than 1 unless supervised (At least 21 and have a valid driver’s license.)||Not more than 1 unless supervised (At least 21 and have a valid driver’s license.)|
Requirements and recommendations:
- Zero BAC level,
- Driving accompanied by a licensed adult,
- Vision test
- Road knowledge test
- Seatbelt uses by all vehicle occupants
- No crashes or traffic violations for six months
- Completion of Stage 1
- Driving accompanied by a licensed adult at night,
- Advanced driver education training,
- Behind-the-wheel road test,
- No crashes or traffic offense convictions for 12 consecutive months
House Bill 204
In Ohio, 16- and 17-year-olds are statistically at risk of getting involved in fatal car crashes or accidents. However, the rate of crashes among 16 year-olds is even more than the 17 year-olds. Since the youngest driver has the highest risk, the Ohio House of Representatives has developed a bill, House Bill 204 (HB 204), which is aimed at redressing the weakest points that make them more at risk. The HB 204 will be responsible for dictating the driving time and who to drive with. Though the bill allows work or school activities excuses, but an individual in possession of a probationary license is not allowed to drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. and should be accompanied by a guardian or a parent.
In addition to the bill, a driver is expected to always drive with a parent or guardian if he or she is found guilty of a moving violation. Every passenger must have their seat belts on whenever a teenage driver is behind the wheels. In general, the bill extends the nighttime experience but limits the number of passengers in a car when a teenage driver is behind the wheels. This is logical because it will reduce the influence of peer pressure towards reckless and drunk driving.
According to Brandi Scales of the group Voices for Ohio’s Children, the leading cause of death in accidents is concentrated mostly in 15- to 19-year-old teenagers. One legislator Columbus, Ohio believes that “driving is a privilege, not a right”. There was a survey done about this bill in 2013 which showed that over 90% of Ohio parents support these driving restrictions.
A crash data review suggests that more than 40% of teenage deaths are contributed by driving between 9:00 pm and 6:00 am. These are night times are mostly reserved for parties which include drinks and use of drugs. The bill is pending, but if it goes through the rate of drunk driving accidents and DUI convictions will reduce dramatically.
Operating a Vehicle after Underage Consumption (OVAUC)
If you are operating a vehicle after underage consumption (OVAUC) in Ohio then you will have to carry a criminal record, fines and at times jail records, not to forget a probation time for education and evaluation. OVAUC caused by alcohol consumption might also affect a student’s educational future negatively especially when one falls under a university disciplinary code. You will agree with me that one’s college education and future opportunities are at stake in this situation and only a good and experienced attorney can be useful in court.
The blood alcohol content of driver under the age of 21 should not go beyond .02%. When you are convicted or arrested for an OVAUC you will get steep charges from the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) and court. The BMV is responsible for the Administrative License Suspensions or ALS charges. In addition to the suspension, you will also get a minimum of 4 points applied on your license. An OVAUC first offender gets a minimum of 90 days in license suspension and the first 60 days, the driver will not be eligible for any driving privileges.
- Completion of a remedial driving class (8 hours)
- Maintain an SR 22 insurance bond
- License retesting
There is also an OVI (DUI) “impaired” charge which is filed in court and it does not depend on the chemical test failure. If your BAC goes beyond .08 then you are liable for an OVI charge which is common among drivers who are above the age of 21. Your charge penalties will depend on the type of offense and court.
OVAUC in an adult court
|1st offence||2nd offence|
|License suspension||up to 2 years||up to 5 years|
|Fine||up to $250||up to $500|
|Jail sentence||up to 30 days||up to 60 days|
|Programs||yellow license plates, alcohol treatment, and probation|
OVUAC in juvenile court
|License suspension||up to 2 years|
|Program||alcohol treatment and probation|
Later convictions of OVUAC are enhanced hard mandatory minimum penalties and if you are not lucky your name might end up in the habitual offender registry.
OVI conviction charges with a minimum of 6 points applied to the license
|OVI||1st offence||2nd offence||3rd offence|
|License Suspension||6 months- 3 years||1 year – 5 years||2 years – 10 years|
|Fine||$375 to $1,075||$525 to $1,625||$850 to $2,750|
|Jail Sentence||3 days – 6 months||10 days – 6 months||30 days – 1 year|
|Privilege waiting period||15 days||45 days||180 days|
|Immob. Forfeiture||No||90 days||Forfeiture|
OVI felony charges
|Felony||1st offence||2nd offence|
|License Suspension||3 years – Life||3 years – Life|
|Fine||$1,350- $10,500||$1,350- $10,500|
|Jail Sentence||60 days – 30 months||60 days – 5 years|
|Privilege waiting period||3 years||3 years|
OVI refusal charges with a minimum of 6 points applied to the license
|OVI||1st offence||2nd offence||3rd offence||4th offence|
|driver’s license suspension||1 year||2 years||3 years||5 years|
One is eligible to these tough charges when he or she is involved in convictions within a 6 year period. What most students do not know is that the charges on an OVUAC get to stay on record for a lifetime (cannot be expunged or sealed). If you fail to adhere to the conviction requirements then one will get perjury charges, loss of financial aid and additional consequence. Some convictions could result in severe punishments, especially when one repeats an offence. This can be a great blow to the future of a student who will be required to seek job opportunities after graduation.
After the passing of Annie’s interlock ignition, a downfall of student drunk driving is highly expected. Interlock ignition devices are mechanisms that are being embraced by all the states to curb drunk driving. It has a 90% efficiency of stopping individuals from driving while intoxicated.
When you feel the need of driving back to your residence after a party, you do not want to take a cab or you do not have a designated driver, just take non-alcoholic beverages. However, if you cannot party without alcohol, make reservations for somewhere to sleep prior to the party. If you do not have a plan then you are planning for anything, you should be responsible for others and yourself on the road.
Since this case requires an SR 22 insurance, in the long run, we are humbled to assist you in filing and getting to know more about this requirement. If you are interested feel free to link with us through our auto quote form.
If you have questions, don’t hesitate to call: (855) 438-7353. One of our licensed agents will help you right away.