If you get convicted of driving under the influence in Virginia, you’re going to need an FR44 form proving you carry at least double the statewide minimum level of liability insurance set forth in the Code of Virginia § 46.2-472 in order to operate a motor vehicle within the Commonwealth.
In Virginia, That means you must carry:
- $40,000 of property damage liability insurance
- $50,000 of bodily injury per person liability insurance
- $100,000 of bodily injury liability insurance per accident
Virginia is unusual in mandating FR44s and increased minimum coverage levels for those with previous DUI convictions. Only Virginia and Florida impose the FR44 requirement.
Who Needs an FR44?
If you’re a Virginia driver, you’ll need to have your insurance company submit an FR44 form on your behalf if you’re you’re convicted of any of these offenses:
- Maiming while under the influence
- Driving while under the influence of intoxicants or drugs
- Driving while the driver’s license has been forfeited for a conviction, or finding of not innocent in the case of a juvenile
- Violation of the provisions of any federal law or law of any other state or any valid local ordinance similar to the above
What does FR44 insurance cost in Virginia?
You can expect to pay quite a bit more for auto insurance once you’ve been ordered to maintain an FR44 filing. This is for two reasons:
First, upon conviction, every carrier on the country will categorize you as a high-risk driver. They will almost certainly increase your insurance premiums. Some companies will drop you altogether.
Second, not only are you in a higher risk category, but you have to carry (and pay for) at least twice the minimum coverage.
So if you were only carrying the state minimum car insurance coverage, you will see a significant increase in premiums. A survey by Forbes found that a DUI conviction caused auto insurance rates to go up by an average of 49% in Virginia – not accounting for any increased levels of coverage you may have to purchase as a result of the FR44 mandate.
The silver lining there, though, is that the state minimum coverage is grossly inadequate anyway.
How Long Do I have to carry FR44 insurance in Virginia?
First offenders must maintain an FR44 for at least three consecutive years from the date of conviction.
How do I get an FR44 in Virginia?
Contact your insurance company. Your insurance company must file the document with the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles.
How can I save money on FR44 insurance?
For the time being, the best way to save money on insurance and make sure you’re being treated fairly is by using an independent insurance broker and getting quotes from multiple competitive carriers. Insurance companies price risk differently from each other. That’s especially true in the higher-risk driver segment of the market, where rates can vary dramatically from one carrier to another.
And here are some other ways you can save money on car insurance, as well.
If you’re dealing with the fallout of a DUI, reckless driving conviction, speeding tickets, or anything else impacting your driving record, you should shop around using an independent broker when big yiubjand make sure you’re getting the best rates available.
More importantly, you should make sure your policy is structured correctly, and provides the amount of protection that you and your fellow drivers need, and that your policy will be valid if you ever have a claim.
Contact us today, and we’ll shop your application around to as many as a dozen top insurance carriers. And help you make the best overall selection that’s right for you.
So you can get back out on the road.
6 Cheap DUI Car Insurance Mistakes Drivers Make
High Risk Driver? Here’s Why Your Current Car Insurance Agent Might Suck
Dirty Little Car Insurance Secrets: Low Deductibles Work for the Insurance Company. Not For You.